Products we thought were vegan

Over the last few months we have been researching what choosing a vegan lifestyle represents. Vegan is not just about food choices, it is a lifestyle choice that affects every aspect of your life. From the food you consume to the clothes you wear and the beauty regimes you may follow. Your choice of home furnishings may too be influenced by choosing a vegan lifestyle.We were shocked at some items we assumed to not contain any animal derivatives. Items that we simply assumed had no association to animals. We have listed a few products we thought were vegan.Razors. They sometimes have a gel strip on them that are animal derived.Hair removal wax...its beeswax.Parmesan Cheese. This one is for vegetarians but we thought we'd mention this as the enzyme used to separate the milk from the whey and curd is rennet. That is the stomach lining of the calves.Chewing gum. Some has gelatin.Carbonated drinks in particular...Diet Pepsi!  This one really shocked us. Some drinks, alcoholic and other fizzy drinks contain ester gum. Ester gum is often used to thicken or stabilize food products and because it uses glycerol, it can be of animal origin. Do your research when it comes to cola products. It is odd that whilst  PepsiCo claim Diet Pepsi is a non-vegan drink they are refusing to reveal what's actually in it. For some reason, the soft drinks giant is keeping quiet on the animal ingredient that Diet Pepsi must contain. For that reason it is unsuitable for anyone following a vegan diet to consume.Orange juice and other fruit juices that are enhanced with Omega 3's. Some brands get those amino acids from fish oil and gelatin. Also, the vitamin D in some enhanced juices is derived from lanolin, a natural oil in the fiber of sheep's wool. Again we are sure you check the labelling, but we thought it was worth mentioning.Vitamin D3 is derived from sheep's wool. Generally in food this is not vegan. The supplement is available in vegan but you must check the labelling.Tattoo ink can contain animal derivatives. The transfer paper is generally not vegan as most contain beeswax.Marshmallows are made from gelatin. You can get vegan marshmallows.products we thought were veganCondoms are not vegan. Some are processed using the milk protein casein, while other condoms are made from lamb intestines. Fortunately you do not have to abstain from sex! Vegan condoms are widely available. Glyde is a brand certified vegan and fair trade. There are many more available today.Lube! Whilst we are in touch with our sexuality we should mention not all lube is vegan. In fact some lube contains the dairy-derived enzyme lactoperoxidase. K-Y Warming Liquid capitalizes off the work of honeybees. So you may be slathering animal products on your genitals. Fortunately Ann Summers sells vegan and cruelty free lube and as well as condoms.Non dairy creamers. You'd think the name itself implies there is no diary, when in fact the still contain animal ingredients. Many contain lactose, whey, or casein. Vegan alternatives are widely available today.Red dyed products generally contain carmine. Also called cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake.  E120 is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminium salt of carminic acid. The pigment is produced from some scale insects. Just be aware and check the labelling.The new £5 note contains tallow, an animal byproduct of beef or mutton fat.We discovered a very useful App called "IS IT VEGAN?"Products we thought were veganYou may also like to read our article "NQ London asks what it means to choose a vegan lifestyle"We'd love to hear what others you have discovered on your journey that do not seem to obviously contain animal derivatives. Feel free to comment below or on our facebook page @nqlondonbags